Shri Sharad Kumar (Indian Police Service, Retd.,) has been appointed as the Vigilance Commissioner in the Central Vigilance Commission, New Delhi for a term of four years from the date on which he enters upon his office, or till he attains the age of sixty-five years, whichever is earlier.


The CVC is a multi-member body consisting of a Central Vigilance Commissioner (chairperson) and not more than two vigilance commissioners. They are appointed by the President on the recommendation of a three-member committee consisting of the Prime Minister as its head, the Union minister of home affairs, and the Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha. They hold office for a term of four years or until they attain the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.

CVC appoints the commissioners for departmental inquiries (CDIs) who function as inquiry officers to conduct oral inquiries in departmental proceedings initiated against public servants. They also review the working of officials and report the departmental inquiries to CVC.

(Adapted from PIB and background from Prepmate-Cengage Polity book, Chapter33)