BJP government in Haryana
The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which fell short of clear majority in the 90-member Haryana Assembly after the Assembly election, is all set to form the new government with the support of Dushyant Chautala-led Jannayak Janta Party (JJP) and Independent legislators.  BJP has secured 40 seats, JJP 10 and 7 independent legislators are also supporting BJP.

Mr. Khattar, who was elected leader of the Haryana BJP legislative party earlier in the day, will be sworn in as Chief Minister, while Mr. Chautala will take oath as Deputy Chief Minister.

Election Results
The BJP had emerged as the single largest party by winning 40 seats the Assembly polls but it fell short of six seats to form the government on its own. The Congress won 31 seats while the JJP wrested 10 seats. The Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) and Haryana Lokhit Party won one seat each while seven Independents also won in the State.

Source: The Hindu

Relevant for GS Prelims & Mains Paper II; Polity & Governance