President Pranab Mukherjee has appointed Prof David R Syiemlieh as the Chairman of the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) as per Article 316 of Constitution. He will take over from Alka Sirohi and shall remain the head of the organisation till his retirement on January 21, 2018 or till further orders

Public Service Commission (UPSC) 
UPSC is constitutional body that conducts the prestigious civil services examination to select IAS, IFS and IPS officers among others. It has been established under Article 315 of the Constitution and consists of a Chairman and ten Members; appointed and removed by President

Article 316  Appointment and term of office of members
(1) The Chairman and other members of a Public Service Commission shall be appointed, in the case of the Union Commission by the President. President makes such appointments on recommendation of Union Council of ministers
(2) A member of a Public Service Commission shall hold office for a term of six years from the date on which he enters upon his office or until he attains, in the case of the Union Commission, the age of sixty five years.