The dispute resolution mechanism for public-private partnership (PPP) projects will be put in place by September this year, NITI Aayog’s chief executive officer Amitabh Kant said.

The Public Utility (Resolution of Disputes) Bill was likely to be tabled in Parliament in the second leg of the Budget session. The Bill was proposed in the 2016-17 Union Budget, with an aim to streamline institutional arrangements for resolution of disputes in infrastructure related construction contracts, PPP, and public utility contracts.

Advantages of Bill:

The Bill, once enforced, would provide

  • a legal model for speedier resolution of disputes in PPP projects
  • it will deal with any contract which involves a public utility authority and a private contractor.


NITI Aayog

The National Institution for Transforming India or NITI Aayog is a Government of India policy think-tank established by Prime Minister Narendra Modi to replace the Planning Commission.

The aim for NITI Aayog's creation is to foster involvement and participation in the economic policy-making process by the State Governments of India. It has adopted a "bottom-up" approach in planning which is a remarkable contrast to the Planning Commission's tradition of "top-down" decision-making. One of the important mandates of NITI Aayog is to bring cooperative competitive federalism and to improve centre state relations. 

The NITI Aayog comprises the following:

  1. Prime Minister of India as the Chairperson
  2. Governing Council comprising the Chief Ministers of all the States and Union territories with Legislatures and Administrators of other Union Territories.
  3. Regional Councils will be formed to address specific issues and contingencies impacting more than one state or a region.
  4. Experts, specialists and practitioners with relevant domain knowledge as special invitees nominated by the Prime Minister
  5. Full-time organizational framework (in addition to Prime Minister as the Chairperson) comprising
    1. Vice-Chairperson: Arvind Panagariya
    2. Members: Three (3) Full-time: economist Bibek Debroy, former DRDO chief V.K. Saraswat and Agriculture Expert Professor Ramesh Chand
    3. Part-time members: Maximum of two from leading universities, research organizations and other relevant institutions in an ex-officio capacity. Part-time members will be on a rotational basis
    4. Ex- Officio members: Maximum of four members of the Union Council of Ministers to be nominated by the Prime Minister
    5. Chief Executive Officer: To be appointed by the Prime Minister for a fixed tenure, in the rank of Secretary to the Government of India. Amitabh Kant has been appointed as the new Chief Executive Officer.