Senior journalist and television commentator Karan Thapar will be conferred the G.K. Reddy Memorial National Award 2016 for excellence in journalism.

Award given by Congress
Congress President Sonia Gandhi will present the award to Mr. Thapar at an event, which will be presided over by veteran leader Dr. Karan Singh, who is the award committee’s chairman. The award carries a cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh, a gold medal and a special trophy.

About Mr. Thapar
Mr. Thapar is the president of ITV, a production house that makes programmes for the BBC, Doordarshan and Channel News Asia. He is currently associated with India Today.