Joint meet of separatists
The government allowed separatist leaders Syed Ali Geelani, Mirwaiz Umar Farooq and Yasin Malik to hold a joint meet.
The decision is aimed at opening a window to end the four-month-long unrest in Kashmir that seems irresolvable.

Reject PM’s statement
Later, in a joint statement, the Hurriyat leaders rejected the statement of Prime Minister Narendra Modi that “development is the cornerstone of the Kashmir solution.”
“The struggle of the people of Kashmir is not for any economic benefit or package but for determining the future of millions of its residents,” said the statement.

The leaders accused the authorities of “denying political space to them.”

What is Hurriyat Faction? 
All Parties Hurriyat Conference (APHC) is an alliance of 26 political, social and religious organizations formed on March 9, 1993 as a political front to raise the cause of Kashmiri independence. Mirwaiz Umar Farooq is a leader of an association which is part of Hurriyat Conference.