Prime Minister Narendra Modi  held talks with Qatar’s Emir, Tamim Bin Hamad Al Thani in Doha. Taking forward the bilateral ties, India and Qatar signed seven bilateral agreements.

Some of the agreements include:

1.    MoU on cooperation in tourism.

2.    Agreement on cooperation and mutual assistance in custom matters.

3.    MoU on Finance Intelligence Unit-India (FIU-IND) and Qatar Financial Information Unit (QFIU).

4.    MoU for investment in National investment & infrastructure fund.

5.    MoU in the field of youth and sports.

6.    MoU on cooperation in skill development & recognition of qualifications.

7.    MoU on cooperation in the field of health.

Switzerland is the third stop on PM Modi's five-nation tour after a successful visit to Doha and Afghanistan. The next stops are US and Mexico.

About MoU:

1.    A memorandum of understanding (MOU or MoU) is a formal agreement between two or more parties. Countries and organizations can use MOUs to establish official partnerships.

2.    MOUs are not legally binding but they carry a degree of seriousness and mutual respect, stronger than a gentlemen’s agreement. Often, MOUs are the first steps towards a legal contract.

3.    MOUs are popular in multinational international relations because, unlike treaties, they take a short time to ratify and can be kept confidential. MOUs may also be used to modify existing legal treaties.