The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) was presented with the Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development for the year 2014. The prize was presented to ISRO Chairman A.S. Kiran Kumar by former Prime Minister and Indira Gandhi Memorial Trust (IGMT) trustee Dr. Manmohan Singh.

Why the award was given?

The citation read: “The International Jury… awarded the prize in recognition of its path-breaking achievements, culminating in the Mars Orbiter Mission and its contributions in strengthening international cooperation…”

Who gave the award?
The ISRO was selected for the prize in 2014 by a jury headed by Vice-President Hamid Ansari. It consists of a trophy made of banded Haematite Jasper, with a portrait of the late Prime Minister Indira Gandhi in Jaipur miniature paintings, a cash award of Rs.1 crore and a citation. The prize is conferred every year by Indira Gandhi Memorial Trust.

(Adapted from the Indian Express)