MLAs were sworn in as part of the Council of Ministers, which include acting president of SKM Kunga Nima Lepcha, who won from two seats, Arun Uperti, MLA from Airthang, and Sonam Lama, who won for the Sangha seat in the Assembly which is reserved for monks

Prem Singh Tamang a.k.a P.S. Golay was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Sikkim. Mr. Golay’s party, Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM), won 17 of the 32 Assembly seats in the April 11 election.

The Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF), which has ruled the State for 25 years, won 15 seats.

Succeeds Pawan Chamling
He succeeds Pawan Chamling of the SDF, who has the record of being the longest serving Chief Minister of the country, having won five consecutive terms for a little over 24 years.

About Mr. Golay
Mr. Golay, 51, the sixth Chief Minister of the Himalayan State, started his career as a school teacher. Mr. Golay was elected to the Assembly in 1994 as an SDF candidate when he was just 26 and went on to serve as Minister holding several portfolios for three consecutive terms till 2009.

However, after differences cropped up between him and Mr. Chamling, the party president, he formed the Sikkim Krantikari Morcha in February 2013.

In the 2014 Assembly election, the SKM bagged 10 seats. Mr. Golay was later convicted and served a prison term till his release in August 2018.