The Union Cabinet has given approval to the declaration of Scheduled Areas in respect of Rajasthan under Fifth Schedule to the Constitution of India.

The Rajasthan Government has requested for extension of Scheduled Areas in the State of Rajasthan under Fifth Schedule to the Constitution of India.

The Scheduled Tribes residing in Banswara, Dungarpur, Pratapgarh, and partial areas of Udaipur, Rajsamand, Chittorgarh, Pali and Sirohi districts of Rajasthan will get benefits of protective measures available under the Fifth Schedule to the Constitution of India.

Provisions of Fifth Schedule
Provisions relating to the administration and control of scheduled areas in states other than Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Mizoram:

  1. President is empowered to increase or decrease the size of the scheduled area or create or abolish the scheduled area.
  2. President is empowered to give directions to the state for administration of scheduled area.
  3. Governor is required to report to the President annually or whenever required by the President regarding the administration of the scheduled area.
  4. Governor shall constitute a ‘Tribes Advisory Council’ to advise him over matters of welfare and advancement of schedule tribes.
  5. Governor can make laws for scheduled areas in consultation with the Tribes Advisory Council.
  6. Governor also enjoys the power that a law passed by central legislature or state legislature shall not apply to tribal community or apply to the community with such modifications as deemed necessary by the Governor.

(Adapted from PIB and Background from PrepMate-Cengage Polity Book, Chapter 28, Page 295)