The event is generally held every two years since 2007, although there is a four-year gap between the next two scheduled tournaments (2016 in India and 2020 in Australia).

The tournament gets underway today with India taking on New Zealand. Five tournaments have so far been played, and no team has yet won the tournament on multiple occasions. The winners include India, Pakistan, England, West Indies and Sri Lanka. 

The event had qualifying stage for 8 teams, out of which 2 namely, Bangladesh and Afghanistan qualified to final stage which has 10 teams divided into 2 groups. The final will be held on 3 April, 2016 at Eden Gardens, Kolkata.