The elections to 27 Rajya Sabha seats, spread across seven States, saw the BJP win 11 with four going to sitting central ministers and the Congress winning six. The Samajwadi Party secured seven seats and the Bahujan Samaj Party two, while a BJP-supported Independent won one.

Earlier, 30 of the total 57 seats in the current round of biennial elections to the Upper House were decided without a contest.

Present numbers of BJP
With these results, the strength of BJP in Rajya Sabha has raised to 54 ( National Democratic Alliance Seats, 72 ) and the strength of Congress is still at 60 (United Progressive Alliance, 66).

Membership of Rajya Sabha
The Rajya Sabha or Council of States is the upper house of the Parliament of India. Membership of Rajya Sabha is 245 members. Most of the members of the House are indirectly elected by state and territorial legislatures using single transferable votes, while the President can appoint 12 members for their contributions to art, literature, science, and social services.Members have tenure of six-years, with one third of the members retiring every two years.

Relevance of strength in Rajya Sabha
Presently, BJP has majority in Lok Sabha but far less strength in Rajya Sabha. As a result, BJP is unable to get passed ordinary and financial bills in Rajya Sabha.