The three-day-old BJP government in Karnataka headed by Chief Minister B.S. Yediyurappa proved its majority with ease in the Assembly by winning the confidence motion by voice vote.

Speaker resigned
Soon after the trust vote and the passage of the Finance Bill for a period of three months along with the supplementary budget, Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar, who had disqualified 17 rebel MLAs of the Congress and the JD(S) over the last few days, tendered his resignation.

How BJP gained majority?
The 17 disqualifications had put the BJP in a comfortable position in the passage of the confidence motion, with the effective strength of the House down to 208 where the BJP enjoys the support of 106 MLAs. This was in contrast to Mr. Yediyurappa’s third term in 2018 when he had to resign on account of lack of numbers within 48 hours of being sworn in. His government is now safe for at least six months, with any possibility of no confidence motion being moved again foreclosed till then.

The desertions by MLAs, allegedly engineered by the BJP, brought down the Congress-JD(S) coalition government by reducing it to a minority.